Wayne’s Word

November 1, 2008

Christmas Music On November 1? Enough already.

Filed under: General — Wayne @ 8:53 pm
Tags: , ,

I was in Wal-Mart today doing the weekly marketing and

What to my wondering ears did appear
but an worn-out Christmas song no one wanted to hear.

It was I’ll be Home for Christmas.  Ironically, I was buying hot chocolate mix at the time.  (Swiss Miss as recommended by Cooks Illustrated.)  I also heard Rudolph the Red-Nose Reindeer and the Hallelujah Chorus (When did that become a Christmas song?)

I guess now that Halloween is over, it’s time for Christmas merchandise and Christmas music.  I remember when we didn’t have to start dealing with non-stop Christmas until after Thanksgiving.  Those were the good old days.

Who is it anyway that wants to hear Christmas music in early November?  No one that I know; at least no one who will admit it.  It’s like fruitcake–no one you know wants one but stores seem to think every one wants at least a dozen.

I’m not opposed to Christmas music.  I like it just as much as the next guy–unless the next guy is Burl Ives.  But, when you are saturated with it for so much of the year it becomes annoying, just like a Top 40 song in heavy rotation.  Or, at least for me, a Top 40 song in any rotation.

So people, let’s unite to over-throw the tyrannical conspiracy to devalue Christmas music by forcing it upon us non-stop.  Let’s stand up and fight to redeem our musical heritage.  Let’s barge into the stores and Muzak offices and shout to the ceilings “Enough is Enough” until they relent in their mind-numbing quest.

But, you first.

1 Comment »

  1. whatever you say. I’ve been singing it since October 3rd. Welcome to a Choir Nerd’s world.

    Comment by sparkman12grad — November 1, 2008 @ 8:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

